State of Flow.

I haven’t been feeling like posting.  It’s not like anyone reads this, so it’s not like I have to worry about anyone getting pissy that they haven’t been able to read whatever words jumble out of my mouth.   

          I haven’t been doing too much hooping.  I did get in a good session maybe last Sunday morning, but that was about it.  I wouldn’t say it was great “flow” time, but It was good for what it was worth.

          I had posed the question on my local flow group’s Facebook page, of how people came to find flow, what inspired them to flow, etc.

          Some people responded with such honesty and beauty that every word resignated with in me screaming out a heartfelt YES! 

I thought I would share one of them here, since I couldn’t agree more.

“I flow for many of the same reasons already listed. It feels good. Its my freedom. Its my escape. Its my way to connect. And its so much more than that. Among them all, I think the most important to me is finding a way to trigger the flowstate voluntarily. How many of us have been using our respective props and all of a sudden, you were no longer bound to earth? Like everything else just disappears and motion comes without thinking, its more like reactions that thought provoked sequences. You trance out and you actually are allowed to interact with something thats bigger than you. What that is, I don’t know, but in the flowstate I know that there is SOMETHING there that allows me to become connected in a way I cant do without being in that state of being.

 

I flow because I was meant to. I don’t know how long the “I” that inhabits this husk of flesh has been around, but sometimes I feel that this has been apart of me long before I ever picked up any prop. Flowing feels right and it opens me up. Its a love that exists outside the bounds of words…that only those who share the passion can truly understand with a mere glance at each other. And everyone who has read through this lengthy wall text of mine I think will be inclined to agree. :D”

I am inclined to agree.

I used to be a pretty spiritual person.  I’ve lost it here and there. More so lost lately. 

Flow, and space with in the hoop, helped me get some of it back.  But I can still feel bitterness towards the whys and the how’s of my current state of life.  I like to think that I am practical in my beliefs, and I don’t believe that I am owed in any way, yet there is such a sour taste of disappointment.  I think partly that may have had to do with me getting caught up in the hype of wishful thinking, and the impracticality of it.

Which is why I am so bent on getting back to basics.  To going back to what I know to be true. And this truth is mine alone.  No one elses.

The hoop had helped me to get there for awhile.  There were no illusions.  It was me tapping into an energy that has been a part of me way before I ever existed in this body.  It was me tapping into my very essence.  I felt stronger, more confident.  I knew my direction and I went there with out hesitation (well there was some, but I wasn’t dragging my feet as much.)

And it brought me closer to people.  Closer than I had ever been in my life.  It surrounded me with a network of people who felt the same way. 

I had never had that before.  I finally felt as if I were “home”.

 

But shit changes.  Life changes.  People Change.  I changed.  Change is inevitable.

What can you do but learn to adapt and “flow” with it?

Leave a Reply

