Where I am at

I so have not been in a hooping mood, considering all of the loss I have been experiencing.

Which is odd, because hooping has gotten me through some very difficult times.

I guess these events are proving to be most difficult, especially if you think about how hooping was one of the ways I coped with going through with my divorce.

Maybe there is some sort of subconscious stigma (as in the guilt that I carried for deciding to divorce my ex and now the guilt I feel towards his death.) attached to hooping in regards to healing myself over his death.  I will find ways to self punish at times.

I have no idea if this makes any sense.

I’ve also been extremely busy with another show I am doing.  It’s been a whirlwind of rehearsals rehearsals rehearsals!  Normally, you have about a month and a half to two months to rehearse.  This show was all last minute and we were given maybe 3 wks at the most to prepare.

Opening night is this Friday, and i am just exhausted.  If you don’t count the 5-6 hours of sleep at night, I have probably been home for less than an hour each day during the span of rehearsals.

I miss my cat.

I am also, once again, going through the same old shit with the guy I was dating.  Which I have been bitching about elsewhere.

But it’s not like I have abandoned the hoop entirely.

I was asked to do another Burlesque show towards the end of April, and so I have been more inclined to pick up my hoop for about 5 mins here and there when we have downtime at the theater.

I have a song narrowed down, but not sure of the theme.  I came across this and thought it was just absolutely adorable and fun, and was thinking of maybe doing a variation of something like this.  Not the exact routine mind you (or song) because I can barely lift my leg out of the hoop (let alone take my socks off) but I like the silly over the top exaggerated sexual-ness of this character.  I would like to incorporate this sort of schtick with Joan Jett’s “Do You Wanna Touch?”.  I think I can make it real campy and fun.

and I think that the extra big panties are just too much fun as well.  😛

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Juliet
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 16:47:53

    I love burlesque hooping, that video and the panties too! Ive been battling through depression and using the hoop to self-medicate. I found that I cannot even think about vein motivated ..it becomes a big thing. I just find small intervals to pick up the hoop and sometimes they turn into practice sessions. Hope you find peace anyway you can get it.

    Reply

  2. pixiegirlkc52
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 18:27:40

    I hear you. Its getting over that mental hurdle. Innately I know that once I get in my hoop and move around, I will feel better. . . yet the depressed me fights the logical me every step of the way.
    Thank you for the kind words. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

