You’ve Got to be Kid-ney-ing Me!

(“Hi! I’m your kidney!” However I doubt mine looks so cute and cuddly)

Tomorrow I go for a kidney probe.

I’m not sure if I have talked much about what has been going on that has lead up to said probe, so here is the break down.

Around the month of March? I noticed that i was peeing blood.  (sexy eh?)  and not just a little bit. . . like a lot, and every time i went to the bathroom.  I had thought at first it was my period and that was why things were so, um, dark.  (sorry to be graphic, but it is what it is.)

Anyways, it took me a while to realize that it was not indeed “lady” goings ons.

I mentioned it to my mom, who told me to call my primary care doctor right away.  It was probably a UTI or Kidney infection.  So I did, and he prescribed me a round of antibiotics.  That didn’t work.  So he then had me go in for blood work and a urinalysis.   Neither of those suggested anything out of the ordinary.  He ordered a IVP, which is where they inject you with a radioactive isotope and then take x rays to check the flow of the urinary system, to make sure nothing is blocked. That came back negative.  It was then that I was referred to a Urologist.

Image

(not my junk.)

From there I did more blood work, urinalysis, another round of stronger antibiotics and nothing.  Nothing was pointing to a cause.

I then had an ultrasound which showed nothing.
Not even any kind of alien embryos which might have been implanted unbeknownst to me.

Image

(wtf???  Not again!)

My urologist then performed a cystoscopy.  That’s where they stick a camera up your piss hole and take a look around your bladder.  NOT FUN AT ALL.

The brochure he gave me about the procedure said that your doctor may numb you a little before inserting the probe.  Not mine. He was all like full steam ahead!

Image

(see the relaxed face on the patient?  LIE.  It was more like a total look of I think a Candiru fish just swam up my piss hole.  Sheer horror.)

My bladder looked fine, however it was here that we discovered that blood was coming from my left kidney.

So he decided to send me for an Angio-Cat scan.  He was thinking that I might have what is called an AVM, where a bundle of blood vessels get tangled up.  (think of Gorbachev’s birth mark.  It would look like that, but INSIDE my kidney…  with out the Iron Curtain.)

He felt this was the possibility of what was going on, because of my age, and with every other test coming back negative for any types of tumors or cysts, this HAD to be what was going on.

I had the Angio- CAT scan, where again, i was injected with contrast and was bombarded by more electromagnetic energy.

(let me just say, that that was some weird ass shit.  Talk about feeling like i just pissed myself when the dye was in injected and traveled through my blood stream.  The technician was right when he told me it would feel like i just wet myself. . . and here I thought he was just coming on to me.  :P)

Those results came back negative for any kind of AVM and to as to anything that would suggest why I could be bleeding from the kidney.

So now, we have to go inside the kidney to look around.  The procedure calls for them to knock me out, which i am not to thrilled about (not that I would want to be awake during it anyways) but given my past with all the hospitalizations I have gone through, Its just not getting any easier for me.  I mean, I should be a pro by now.  But the thought of having to go through all the hassle and rigamaroo and so on and so forth. . . It’s just not fun.  (when is it ever?)  I have a hard time with anesthesia.  I get incredibly sick and have such a hard time waking up.

So there is where I am.  This whole thing is starting to take a toll on me.  I am so incredibly tired like all the time.  I don’t even want to think about picking up my hoop. (and I really need to with that show coming up next month.) I mean, I get winded and out of breath when I bend over, and you can forget about walking up stairs.  I have to take moment and just breathe for a bit.

I hope they find out what the F is going on.  I don’t think it’s anything like cancer. . . I hope not.  I mean, I am too young for that to happen in that area.  But I can’t think of what else could be causing this.  I’ve looked online and though I have come across articles of gross hematuria occurring, it usually goes away after awhile.  Mine hasn’t gone anywhere.  Not even out to the store for a pack of cigarettes and a carton of milk.  (and doesn’t even suggest lightening up.) All I can come up with is a pocket of infection somewhere that is irritating something. . . and if that’s the case then I am gonna be pretty pissed that they just didn’t keep me on antibiotics longer instead of making me go through probe after probe.

I’d rather deal with Tall Grey’s probing me than this shit.  Er, well, maybe not.

Aside

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paulene Zircher
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 08:21:24

    Kidney infection should be monitored closely because it can lead to a more serious damage tot the kidneys. :::`:

    Thanks again http://foodsupplementdigest.com/grapefruit-seed-extract-uses/

    Reply

  2. Teeny Bikini
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 13:49:47

    Wow. Thanks for sharing…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

