Burning Man Ditching Blues.

I’ve been putting off writing this post for a while now, but If I am to align my root, then I need to address it, and be done with it. 

I’ve mentioned it here and there to a few people, but I need to vomit it all out, so that I may move forward.

Burning Man.

To get a better understanding of what it is, you can watch the video above.

I never knew what Burning Man was until I got into hooping. As soon as it was described to me by friends who had gone before (and continuously go.) I knew It was something that I needed to experience. It became the number one thing to do on my bucket list.

However Burning Man is muy muy expensive. Tickets to just get in can run anywhere from $320 and up (depending on what tier you’re able to snag them at, if you’re able to get one at all.) Then you have to figure in the expense of just getting out to Black Rock. On top of that you also have to figure in a fee if you’re staying with a theme camp (which is usually best to do, seeing as they pool together to provide some “amenities”) and lastly, you figure in food, water, camping materials, costuming, etc etc. . . anyways, financially it’s a big investment, which could run you anywhere starting from $1500 and up.

(and if there is anyone who can do it for less, please let me know.)

It’s a year-long preparation thing if you ask me.

Some of you reading this might be thinking it’s just a bunch of hippies/ravers/punks/wackos/drug addicts/geeks/hipsters running around the desert naked doing drugs and having orgies.  But oh no, it is SO much more than that.   It’s about shedding the shells we have created around ourselves.  It’s about opening up to new experiences.  It’s about expressing ourselves in  non judgemental environment.  It’s about connecting with like-minded souls.. . . and ok, it’s also about running around naked in the desert doing drugs and having orgies.  But it’s totally up to the attendee to make it what they want it.  If that’s your MO, toot sweet.  Can’t say it would be mine.

And let’s not forget about the burning of shit.  So much burning.   I mean they burn a 40ft tall man for pete’s sake!   (if not taller.)

But all this is neither here nor there. Obviously, I am not going because it’s like what? A few days away, and I am sitting in Ohio still.

That was alright with me. I had made peace with it, until I found out that one of my bestest friends. . . was going. (and is actually on his way there as I type this.)

Now. This shouldn’t be that big of a deal. I mean, awesome for him. Yet, there is this part of me that is finding it so incredibly hard to just. . be at peace with this and be totally happy for him.

I feel sort of left behind on this one. Him and I had talked about going together for YEARS and for him to go without me, well it stings damn it! Like part of me can’t believe he’s out there experiencing this without me. (We tend to do a lot of excursions together. Or we did.)

He was able to get out there as a somewhat “free” ride.  A friend of ours who goes every year, applied and received an art grant, with which they built some fire poofer thing, and part of that is what is also funding my friend to get out there and to get into BM.

Now, selfish me feels like if it weren’t for me, he too would have never known of this event. After all it was I who found the local jammers and burners and pushed him to go with me, so I wouldn’t be alone and feel like such a dork and out of place.
The other part of me on the other hand, really wants to be excited and happy for him that he is able to partake and experience what could be a one in a lifetime experience.

Selfish me is winning.  I don’t want selfish me to win.  I want selfish me to just shut up about it and stop being a brat.  (Even though he did say he was going to do everything in his power to see that I go this year with them.  Psssssh.  Yeah.  That happened.  Thanks pal.)

So there you go. Blaah barf and blech. It’s out. Don’t judge. I’m not perfect, and I am a taurus. . whom are capable of the most intense jealousy you have ever seen. . . not that I am normally a very jealous person, and jealous isn’t even the correct term i want to use. I am ENVIOUS.  (There is a difference.)

Next year though, it’s on. I will be the one to be running around the playa. maybe naked. . . highly unlikely, cause who wants to see that?  But on the playa I shall be.

2013. It’s on.

probably my fav Burning Man spoof ever!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rilschsea
    Aug 26, 2012 @ 13:06:46

    ok…im in next year…… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

