Move Over Mrs. Markham

I was asked to do another show.  I love when I don’t have to audition, because let’s face it, auditions suck ass.  Big Time.  Normally I seem to do pretty well when it comes to auditions, I mean, I nabbed the last couple of shows that I auditioned for, but it is always a nerve wrecking experience for me.  It never gets any easier.

 

Lately, I have been pretty blessed to have built up a reputation if you will among certain circles in the community theater world.  The last several shows I have been in have all been because I was referred to the director, or the director already knew my body of work.

 

This last case, I was referred to the director after one of their actresses had dropped out.

 

Hence how I came to be in this show.

 

I truly truly love theater.  The whole process.  From the rehearsals to the actual performance, it is such a journey of creative energy. 

 

Having said that though, there are still some shows, some actors I have worked with, directors, etc, that make the process a bit annoying.  Taxing almost.

 

I dare say that the schedule of this one would be my biggest bitch.

 

It’s not uncommon for shows to be total time suckages when it gets down to the wire and closer to the performance dates.  3 nights a week turn into 5 as the clock ticks down to opening curtain.

 

This show however, has just about been . . . 5 nights a week.  If not 6. 

Granted I came in maybe 2 weeks later than everyone else, and the part is not that big of a part (which only leads to my bitching about time suckage even more, because I am left just sitting around, when I could be out the door and on my merry way to doing something else.)

 

I truly have no time for anything.  The theater, while one that I had been interested in working with for awhile, is about 45 minutes from where I live, and 20 minutes from where I work.  This isn’t too bad, except that when I leave rehearsals at 10 o clock at night, I am not driving back to work.  I’m driving the hour back home, and by the time I get home, it’s pretty much lights out and repeat the next day.  Sleep.  Work.  Rehearsal. Sleep.  Work.  Rehearsal.  Throw in there time in my car, which I might as well just live in at this point.

 

I don’t think I would mind the 5-6 day rehearsing week, if I was done by 9 at the latest.  I think that’s reasonable.  (With the exception of tech week, because god knows what time you’ll get out on those nights.)

 

It makes for an impossible to keep up with my day to day “need to get dones.”  My apartment is a mess.  I still have a huge box of Halloween decorations cluttering up the kitchen that all need to be hung (which I doubt I will get around to finishing decorating.)  Dishes are piling up, the place needs vacuuming, the bathroom scrubbed, floors swept, crap that just needs to be put away where it belongs.

Whatever few precious minutes I do seem to collect before I hit the sheets are usually spent coming down from the day, collecting myself and trying to unwind, so that I can go to bed, and wake up early the next morning.

 

I don’t want to make it sound like I absolutely hate this aspect of theater.  I mean, at times, the time suckage serves it’s purpose, and I accept that this is part of the deal when one is doing a show.  You want it to be good, you gotta put in the hours, and sometimes during stressful points in my life, I relish the thought of doing a show, because it gives me an opportunity to focus on something else.  Something creative, and positive. Truth be told, the time suckage should be useful into pulling me away from obsessing about my personal life at the moment.  (Which I should point out has me stressed out beyond belief) but its not.  There just isn’t that solace this time around.  In fact I think it is adding more so to the stress.

 

I think another factor in my less than thrilled outlook on this show is, if I felt better about the direction of my character, then I wouldn’t mind this whole process as much.  God try as I might, I have no idea how to do a slight Swedish accent, which leaves me feeling very defeated.  I mean, the closest Swedish accent I can do, is the Swedish chef from the Muppets. . . and I don’t think my director would appreciate me running around the stage yelling “Bork Bork Bork!” (Though I would find it highly amusing)

Image

 

The cast of course, is incredibly talented (aren’t they always?  Well, ok, not always.) yet I sort of feel like an outsider to the group because of my late arrival being casted and the fact that I bolt out the door when we are done rehearsing so I can make it home by 11.

 

So that’s where I am with this one.  I know it will be a good show.  It’s with a good theater, good cast, good script. . .Should be good.

I just wish I had more time. 

 

But it’s only 3 more weeks of this.  I can make it . . . right? 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gypsy116
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 21:05:48

    Good luck 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

