The Law of Attraction is a Big Teasing Whore.

I need a new gig.
This is nothing new.  I’ve been trying to keep and eye out for an escape from my current work situation.

Presently, the time to get out is NOW.

I’ve bitched before….I’m in a “mid” life crisis.  Even though I’m nowhere near midlife.

But I’ll reiterate….I need to pay my rent, and everything I would like to do as a career….would not.

And due to my limited educational background, my choices are slim.

That and I hate people.  Well the general complaining public.  So, again, that doesn’t leave me with many options.

I’m not a stupid girl.  I consider myself to be quite intelligent…but I doubt my knowledge of wormholes, quantum physics, dog breeds and Zelda cheats is going to help me land a gig working with the general public. 
(Which is all I seem to be qualified to do.)

It’s not relative.

So I’ve been looking for a “grown up” job that will pay the bills….even though I don’t want to be a “grown up” per se.

I even downloaded a job app on my phone that I search through religiously.

But here is what I’m finding.

When I go to apply for said jobs, it seems I always have to register or create a profile for some 3rd party website that is hosting the job posting.

Ain’t nobody got time for that.

I don’t have time for all the rigamoroo to complete 5 pages of blah blah blah, upload my resume, and then re-type my resume in the spaces they provide and won’t let you bypass 3 more pages later.

Just let me apply for the shit.

Today I saw a posting for a CS position that paid plenty good (and then some) and was right around the corner from me.

I clicked to apply for it, and was immediately taken to some bullshit website where I had to do all the above.

However, as I got half way through and clicked to move onto page 4 of 6, I got an unexpected error and a prompt telling me to contact the web manager.

No number to call.  No contact info.  Nothing.

I logged out and back in again and again and still got the same error.

So needless to say, I didn’t get to actually apply for the job.

So what does this have to do with Law of attraction you may ask?
Because the place I was trying to apply to, was a building I had driven past a few weeks ago….and a thought popped into my head…I wonder if they are hiring?   I should get a job there…I’d probably be content there….

Because the universe seems to like to fuck with me and make it seem like opportunities presented to me are serendipitous, it seized hold of that thought and decided to dangle yet another carrot in front of my face and yank it away. All the while laughing cruelly at my disappointment and frustration.

Why show me the path, if you’re not gonna let me walk down it?

So hey universe, quit being a dick.  Quit being that kid who parades his new toy in front of me but won’t share.
It’s not cool.

The end.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sofia Leo
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 17:11:49

    Couldn’t hurt to stop by that building, resume in hand, and try to apply in person. If they refuse, be sure to tell them that their website is not working and you would totally rock the job. Demand the name of the person doing the hiring and call them, email them, fax your resume – do it Old School and see if that doesn’t get results.

    In 25 years I have NEVER gotten a job by filling out an online form. Only got one interview after applying to many, many postings. Word of mouth, putting a face to your name in person, finding someone who knows someone – that’s the only way.

    Good luck!

    Reply

  2. rilschsea
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 20:36:03

    I got this business idea we could start together…….

    Reply

  3. Jess
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 11:42:40

    I HATE how complicated it is to apply for jobs now. That bullshit 3rd party site, upload resume, type out resume, give a 7 paragraph essay on why you feel you’d be an asset to the team, provide an additional cover letter, sell your soul to the devil and then not get the job because it takes SO LONG to do all that shit and someone who isn’t really computer savvy (as in, my husband) just doesn’t stand a chance in that game.

    I hope you find something soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

