Burning Man.

image

I went.  I saw.

I saw lots of cool shit.

I didn’t have some religious experience or spiritual awakening.  I didn’t feel a deep connection to other participants and the community itself.  ( I mean I could bitch about the majority of the people in my camp…. But I won’t.  If anything, at the time, it was frustration over the lack of consideration for others…. But whatever.). Not going to lie, but some of what I came across felt corny and contrived.  That’s just me.

The events leading up to it, and how I was initially approached to go…. And then forgotten about… Well that definitely added to the already sour taste in my mouth….

Once I was there though, all that bullshit seemed meaningless.  Not as important.  Not something to carry and close me off to the experience.

I will have to agree with most that it is an experience that is undescribable.  It is different for everyone.

The highlights.

The moments of biking across the playa, seeing the mountains off in the distance.  Those were the moments I felt most at peace.

image

The moment of being swallowed up in a dust storm, and stumbling upon others for brief moments before they disappeared back into the fog of the dust.

image

The moment of saying goodbye to a very dear soul and wishing him peace and gratitude on his eternal journey.

image

Reading the thoughts and stories of others.  The intimate moments and personal truths they chose to share.

image

Laughing and melting into the comfortableness of being with loved ones, and creating new stories with others.  Just being with others.  Accepting and being accepted.

The sea of LEDs at night.

The structures themselves.  The time, energy, thought,and love that went into them.

image

image

The constant uhhhnn tttt uhhhnn ttt of the sound camps.

The magic, wonderment, imagination, dedication and pure love of those who brought to life pieces of art.

image

aed6146ea79219d5be9ae6a484bc3d29

The burns.  Each of them different.  Some were for show and bad ass.  Some were quiet and reflective.

image

I wish I would have done more while I was there.  There was so much, that it would have been impossible to cram in everything that sounded interesting.  I forgoed a lot of early morning workshops and late night parties due to exhaustion and the desire for my pillow.

I stayed drug free…. Other than caffeine.
(Not that I do drugs anyways)
I didn’t want my experience to be about that.

Would I do it again?  I absolutely would.

image

(Though next time I will get the yarn dreads for my hair.  Having such fine thin hair and not being able to wash it for five days was not fun.  But again…. You just gotta go with it.  Even when the dry shampoo you got doesn’t do diddly squat and you’re walking around with dildo head…. A term I use to describe really horrible hair days.  😛 )

image

Leave a Reply

